Music Monday – Ian Dury Edition

 

Cover of

Cover of New Boots & Panties

 

I have no idea how this one came back to me, but Ian Dury gets my vote as the world’s coolest polio victim (my apologies to FDR).

Dury was a kind of elder statesman among the British Punks, having long paid his dues in the “pub rock” scene of the early to mid-70’s. He and his band, the Blockheads, put out a few spectacular, disco-tinged punk albums in the late 70’s, including my personal favorite, New Boots and Panties.

“Hit Me With Your Rhythm Stick” is an infectious, weird, dance-able punk song that bludgeons the listener with rhythm. Best line? “Hit me with your rhythm stick, it’s nice to be a lunatic! Hit me, hit me, hit me!!!”

Enjoy and let me know what you think!

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 thoughts on “Music Monday – Ian Dury Edition

Leave a Reply

