Music Monday: (Gulp) Worship Music? Me?

worship3

I know, I know. I’m the guy who hates worship music. Let’s just put that out there. I’ve even posted about this anti-passion before. See my ode to the great Rodney Crowell.

However, I do like church (generally).

My family and I recently purchased a house near Athens, Georgia and so we’ve been snooping around churches there. Who knows what’s going to happen, but we’ve found one we really like so far, and the music is no small part of that.

The church is called Classic City Community Church and their band is called “The Classic City Collective.” I’ve been so moved by them that I even bought their CD today (also apparently available on iTunes and Amazon).

The group undermines all my comfortable cynicism about Christian music. They seem to have a commitment to artistry that eludes most contributers to the decline of Christian Culture (aka “praise bands”).

They have taste. They have musical talent. And most of all, they can claim that most unique trait, subtlety. The music is emotional, but not boorish. These folks clearly are passionate about God, but they also have dignity and brains.

In other words there are no lyrics like “Heaven meets Earth like a sloppy wet kiss.”

Contemporary physicists like to point out that given the vastness of the universe, the appearance of life here indicates that it all but certainly exists elsewhere. Likewise, this group’s existence has given me hope that there are musicians out there who are fighting against my bitter cynicism about Christian music and culture.

If good taste and dedicated artistry exists in Athens, surely it exists elsewhere. This is no small leap into optimism for me, and I’m grateful for the correction.

Here’s a clip they produced about the band and its mission. Do yourself a favor and give ’em a shot.

Two highlights I’d like to point out. At about 1:15 in, there is sample of an utterly beautiful song called “A Mind at Perfect Peace.” I wish I could find a clip of the whole thing because it is truly lovely.

Also during that clip, the group’s leader, Paul Reeves, reflects on his reluctance to write worship music in the first place. He basically claims that the purpose of this music is a great responsibility and that he “didn’t want to do that flippantly.”

This betrays a commendable artistic maturity, let alone a fine spiritual one. Well done, sir. You’ve sold a tough (yet newly hopeful) customer.

7 thoughts on “Music Monday: (Gulp) Worship Music? Me?

    • That’s a great term, and one that I hadn’t been familiar with. It does capture how this music is different for me, though. I do think that there is something about the decidedly “popular” nature of most contemporary worship music that bugs me. The category you offer here is most helpful! Thanks and thanks for reading!

  1. Glad more people are being exposed to these guys. I love what Paul does, however I – personally – put them in my playlist alongside John Mark (who – apparently – you’re not a fan of), Gungor, & Sojourn Music – all fresh, creative Christian fare.

    • Well I admit a natural bias and I don’t want to claim my taste as necessarily good. I’m sure that my many bad experiences have made me miss out on a great number of terrific performers. That’s part of what moves me so much about this new experience. I feel a little more open to exploring now than a few weeks ago! Thanks for chiming in and thanks for the recommendations!

Leave a Reply

